‘Gordon’s Skill Development Ladder’ & TEL

During my current  MOOC & Badge exploration, I’ve come across a great little course on the Open2Study platform called ‘Teaching Adult Learners‘. In it they showcase ‘Gordon’s Skill Development Ladder’ (see video below):

I have never come across this before, and think it could be useful for those of us wanting to develop our colleagues’ skills in the use of technology to enhance their teaching. I love the saying ‘you don’t know what you don’t know’ (classed as ‘Unconsciously Unskilled’ in Gordon’s Model) and could apply to anyone using the VLE. I’m not complaining about our lecturers’ usage of our Moodle – I just want to show them how it can be so much more than somewhere to upload files and weblinks.

Anyone else using this model/ladder? I might explore this further when I have time over the summer.

Sam x

Leave a Reply

